Pico de Gallo – A Summer Staple!

This fresh Pico de Gallo sometimes referred to as Salsa Fresca is a summer food must have!

Untitled design (8)

When most people think of summer they think of watermelons, ice cream and cold drinks on the patio.  Me I think of those things too but I also think about fresh salsa.  I prefer Pico De Gallo vs the cooked salsa versions and it is best made in the summer when tomatoes are fresh! Roma tomatoes are better for this type of salsa because they tend to be meatier but any tomatoe will do.  Just remember to remove the seeds so that you do not have a messy wet salsa soup.

Untitled design (11)

To make dice about 5 Roma Tomatoes (remember seeds removed) 1/2 a red onion, 1 bunch of fresh cilantro or if it is a large bunch 1/2 a bunch will do,  1/2 a red onion, 3 cloves of minced garlic and 2 jalapeno peppers (seeds removed).  If you prefer less spicy use one or none it is up to you.  Very important – see how I left the jalapeno pepper chopping until the end.  This is so you don’t tear up and wipe your eyes after cutting peppers.  Trust me from experience you will want to head my warning on this.

Untitled design (9)

Once it is all chopped in the bowl and depending on if you listened to my warning or not you should be able to see a beautiful bright yummy looking bowl of goodness before you. If you didn’t listen to my warning.  Take this time to wipe the tears and runny makeup…

Untitled design (10)

Now to finish this off squeeze the juice of one fresh lime and add a dash of sea salt and black pepper to your liking.  To get more juice out of the lime roll it back and forth pressing down gently on the cutting board to release the juices inside before cutting.

Ingredients- (2)

Perfect on tacos, grilled fish, with from fresh guacamole and chips, or on top of a salad, this versatile dish is a great addition many summer meals.  You can make it in winter too but for some reason I only make this in the summer.  I am weird like that – I have summer and winter foods.

Enjoy and Live Well!

Leave a comment